## DECRIMINALIZATION OF MARIJUANA

#### SMOKING IT IS STILL ILLEGAL

Effective July 1, 2011, the State of Connecticut decriminalized the possession of ½ ounce of marijuana or less, however this law does **NOT** mean marijuana use is legal.

#### What does 'decriminalized' mean?

Decriminalization means the penalties for marijuana possession in the state of Connecticut have changed from jail time to fines.



# You have more to lose than just money!

### If you're under age 21

Your driver's license will be suspended for 60 days, regardless of it's a first, second or third offense.

If you're under age 18

In addition to a 60-day license suspension, you will be found guilty of an infraction regardless of the amount of marijuana in your possession, and still must go through the juvenile justice system.

Parents and/or guardians will be involved.

You'll still get in trouble if you're caught with marijuana!



First Offense \$150 Infraction

**Second Offense** \$200 - \$500 Infraction

Third+ Offense
Drug Education Program
paid for by Offender

Despite the recent decriminalization of marijuana, it is still a risky decision to carry the drug in any amount.



Local partnerships promoting wellness by addressing substance abuse statewide. http://ctprevention.org