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Issue  

Briefly explain the state and municipal taxes on recreational cannabis. This report updates OLR 

Report 2021-R-0165. 

 

Summary 

Under Connecticut’s 2021 recreational cannabis law, sales of recreational cannabis are generally 

subject to three taxes: a state cannabis tax based on the product’s type and total THC reflected on 

its label, a 3% municipal cannabis tax, and 6.35% state sales and use tax (PA 21-1, June Special 

Session (JSS), §§ 125-127, codified as CGS §§ 12-330ll to -330mm). Cannabis for palliative (i.e., 

medical) use is exempt from all three of these taxes (CGS § 12-412(120), as amended by PA 21-1, 

JSS, § 129).  

 

The taxes apply at the retail level to sales by cannabis retailers, hybrid retailers, and micro-

cultivators. Revenue from the state cannabis tax is directed to the General Fund, a General Fund 

account (the Cannabis Regulatory and Investment Account), and two appropriated funds (the Social 

Equity and Innovation Fund and Prevention and Recovery Services Fund), according to a specified 

schedule. Revenue from the municipal cannabis tax becomes a part of the municipality’s general 

revenue and must be used for designated purposes, including streetscape improvements and 

neighborhood developments, education or youth employment or training programs, and services for 

formally incarcerated individuals. 

 

This report provides a brief overview of the new law’s tax provisions. A full summary of these 

provisions is available on the Connecticut General Assembly’s website. 

 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
mailto:OLRequest@cga.ct.gov
https://twitter.com/CT_OLR
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2021/rpt/pdf/2021-R-0165.pdf
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1201&which_year=2021
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1201&which_year=2021
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1201&which_year=2021
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1201&which_year=2021
https://www.cga.ct.gov/2021/SUM/PDF/2021SUM00001-R03SB-01201-SUM.PDF
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State Cannabis Tax 

What is the Tax Rate and Base? 

Connecticut imposes a state tax on retail sales of cannabis, 

cannabis plant material, and cannabis edible products by a 

cannabis retailer, hybrid retailer, or micro-cultivator, with certain 

exceptions. The tax rate is based on the product’s type and total 

THC reflected on its label.  

 

Specifically, the tax rate is: 

• 0.625 cents per milligram of total THC for cannabis plant 

material;  

• 2.75 cents per milligram of total THC for cannabis edible 

products; and 

• 0.9 cents per milligram of total THC for cannabis, other 

than cannabis plant material or cannabis edible products. 

 

The tax does not apply to (1) sales of cannabis for palliative use; 

(2) sales of cannabis by a delivery service to a consumer; or (3) 

transfers of cannabis by specified entities to a transporter for 

transport to other entities (e.g., transfers by cultivators to 

transporters for transport to product manufacturers or packagers). 

 

Does State Sales Tax Apply? 

Yes. The state’s 6.35% sales and use tax also applies to retail 

sales of cannabis, cannabis plant material, and cannabis edible 

products. The law specifically prohibits any exemptions under the 

state’s sales and use tax law from applying to cannabis sales, 

other than exemptions for (1) sales of cannabis for palliative use 

(which is considered a tax-exempt nonprescription drug) and (2) 

transfers of cannabis to a transporter. It also prohibits anyone 

from purchasing cannabis on a resale basis. (By law, sales for 

resale are generally exempt from state sales and use tax.) 

 

Under the law, any products containing cannabis or cannabinoids 

(manufactured or synthetic) are excluded from the nonprescription 

drug or medicine exemption and thus subject to sales and use tax.  

 

Definitions 

“Cannabis” generally means 

all parts of a plant or species 

of the genus cannabis, 

whether growing or not. It 

includes its seeds and resin; 

its compounds, 

manufactures, salts, 

derivatives, mixtures, and 

preparations; CBD 

(cannabidiol) and similar 

compounds unless derived 

from hemp; any product 

made from hemp with more 

than 0.3% total THC 

concentration; manufactured 

cannabinoids; and certain 

synthetic cannabinoids.  

“Cannabis plant material” 

means the cannabis flower, 

trim, and all parts of the 

cannabis plant or species, 

excluding hemp and a 

growing cannabis plant and 

its seeds. 

“Cannabis edible products” 

are those containing 

cannabis or cannabis 

concentrate, combined with 

other ingredients, that are 

intended to be ingested. 

“Hybrid retailers” are those 

licensed to sell both 

recreational cannabis and 

medical marijuana. 

“Micro-cultivators” are those 

licensed to cultivate, grow, 

and propagate cannabis 

plants at an establishment 

containing between 2,000 

and 10,000 square feet of 

grow space, before any 

authorized expansion. 
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How is the Tax Administered? 

Retailers and micro-cultivators must collect the tax from consumers at the time of sale (except for 

the exempt sales described above). They must (1) file returns with the Department of Revenue 

Services (DRS) each month in which they may legally sell cannabis in the state and (2) remit the tax 

due with the return. Late tax payments are subject to a penalty of 25% of the amount due and 

unpaid or $250, whichever is greater, plus interest at 1% per month or fraction of a month from the 

due date to the payment date. 

 

Where Does the Tax Revenue Go? 

Revenue from the state cannabis tax is directed to the General Fund, a new General Fund account, 

and two new appropriated funds, according to a schedule specified in the recreational cannabis law 

(PA 21-1, JSS, § 128, codified as CGS § 21a-420f, as amended by PA 22-146, § 4). Table 1 

provides the revenue distribution schedule and briefly describes the purposes for which the new 

account and funds must be used. 

 

Table 1: State Retail Cannabis Tax Revenue Distribution 

Funds and Accounts FY     

22 

FY     

23 

FYs   

24-26 

FYs  

27-28 

FYs 

29+ 

Cannabis Regulatory and Investment Account: to 

pay costs state agencies incur in implementing 

the state’s recreational cannabis law 

100% 100% - - - 

General Fund - - 15% 10% - 

Social Equity and Innovation Fund: to fund 

appropriations for (1) access to business capital, 

(2) technical assistance for business start-ups 

and operations, (3) workforce education, and (4) 

community investments 

- - 60% 65% 75% 

Prevention and Recovery Services Fund: to fund 

appropriations for substance abuse prevention, 

treatment, and recovery services and substance 

abuse data collection and analysis 

- - 25% 25% 25% 

 

  

https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/CGAbillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&bill_num=1201&which_year=2021
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&which_year=2022&bill_num=146
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Municipal Cannabis Tax 

What is the Tax Rate and Base? 

Connecticut imposes a 3% municipal sales tax on the gross receipts from the sale of cannabis by a 

cannabis retailer, hybrid retailer, or micro-cultivator that must be administered in accordance with 

the state sales and use tax law. The municipal sales tax is in addition to the state cannabis tax 

described above and 6.35% state sales tax on such products. As with the state cannabis tax, the 

following are exempt from the municipal tax: (1) cannabis for palliative use, (2) sales of cannabis by 

a delivery service to a consumer, and (3) the transfer of cannabis to a transporter. 

 

How is the Tax Administered? 

Retailers and micro-cultivators must collect the tax from consumers at the time of sale and hold it 

in trust until remitted to the municipality. The law establishes a process by which the retailers and 

micro-cultivators report their sales to DRS, which in turn notifies municipalities of the tax amount 

due from each retailer and micro-cultivator. Municipalities then invoice each applicable retailer and 

micro-cultivator, which must remit their tax payments to each respective municipality. Late tax 

payments are subject to a penalty of 25% of the amount due and unpaid or $250, whichever is 

greater, plus interest at 1% per month or fraction of a month from the due date to the payment 

date. 

 

Where Does the Tax Revenue Go? 

The tax amounts remitted by retailers and micro-cultivators become a part of the municipality’s 

general revenue and must be used for any of the following purposes: 

1. streetscape improvements and other neighborhood developments in communities where 

cannabis retailers, hybrid retailers, or micro-cultivators are located; 

2. education programs or youth employment and training programs in the municipality; 

3. services for individuals living in the municipality who were released from DOC custody, 

probation, or parole;  

4. mental health or addiction services;  

5. youth service bureaus and municipal juvenile review boards; and 

6. community civic engagement efforts. 

 

 

RP:kl 
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MUNICIPAL AUTHORITY - IMPACT OVERVIEW  
 
Sec. 83 – effective July 1, 2021:  Addresses various issues on municipalities’ authority 
to regulate cannabis, such as (1) requiring them, upon petition of 10% of their voters, 
to hold a local referendum on whether to allow the recreational sale of marijuana or 
whether to allow certain types of cannabis businesses within the municipality; (2) 
barring them from prohibiting the delivery of cannabis by authorized persons; and 
(3) allowing them to charge retailers, hybrid retailers, and micro-cultivators for 
certain initial public safety expenses. 
 
Local Referendum: A municipality must hold a referendum on whether to allow 
certain cannabis sales if at least 10% of its electors’ petition for such a vote at least 60 
days before a regular election.  
 
Specifically, these votes may determine whether to allow (1) the sale of adult-use 
marijuana in the municipality or (2) the sale of adult-use marijuana in one or more of 
the cannabis establishment license types.  
 
The ballot designations are as follows: “Shall the sale of recreational marijuana be 
allowed in .... (Name of municipality)?” or “Shall the sale of cannabis under 
(Specified license or Licenses) be allowed in .... (Name of municipality)?” or “Shall 
the sale of recreational marijuana be prohibited (No Licenses) in .... (Name of 
municipality)?”  
 
The referendum and ballot designations conform to existing procedures. The results 
take effect on the first Monday of the month after the election and stay in effect until 
another vote is taken. The bill allows a vote to occur at a special election, following 
existing procedures, if at least one year has passed since the previous vote. Existing 
laws on absentee voting at referenda apply to these votes. These referenda do not 
affect any class of cannabis establishments already allowed in a municipality and do 
not affect any class of cannabis establishments that do not sell adult-use cannabis, 
including a medical dispensary and establishments that grow cannabis products. 
 

http://ct.gov/opm
https://www.cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Bill&which_year=2021&bill_num=1201
http://www.ct.gov/cannabis
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Delivery and Transport: Municipalities cannot prohibit the delivery of cannabis to 
(1) consumers or (2) qualifying medical marijuana patients or their caregivers, if the 
delivery is made by someone authorized to do so under the bill (e.g., delivery 
services).  It also bars municipalities from prohibiting the transport of cannabis to, 
from, or through the municipality by anyone licensed or registered to do so. 
 
Ban on Certain Actions and Local Host Agreements:  The bill prohibits 
municipalities or local officials from conditioning any official action on, or accepting 
any donations from, any cannabis establishment or applicants for cannabis 
establishment licenses in the municipality. The bill also bars municipalities from 
negotiating or entering into a local host agreement with a cannabis establishment or 
license applicant.  
 
Charge for Initial Public Safety Costs: The bill allows municipalities, for the first 30 
days after cannabis retailers or hybrid retailers open, to charge them up to $50,000 
for any necessary and reasonable municipal costs for public safety services  
related to the opening (such as for directing traffic). 
 
Sec. 84 - effective October 1, 2021: Allows municipalities to prohibit consumption of 
cannabis in public areas and to establish fines for use of cannabis in such areas.   
 
Existing law in place through September 30, 2021 – Allows a municipality to 
regulate, on any property owned by the municipality, any activity deemed to be 
deleterious to public health, including the lighting or carrying of a lighted cigarette, 
cigar, pipe or similar device.   This provides sufficient authority to regulate the 
consumption of cannabis of any form in the interim.   
 
Regulation of Smoking and Cannabis Use: Existing law allows municipalities to 
regulate activities deemed harmful to public health, including tobacco smoking, on 
municipally-owned property. The bill broadens this to include property that a 
municipality controls but does not own. For the purposes of this section, property 
that a municipality controls includes, but not limited to, sidewalks, parks, beaches, 
municipal land and buildings, etc. It specifies that this regulatory authority applies 
to (1) smoked or vaped tobacco or cannabis, and (2) other types of cannabis use or 
consumption. 
 
For municipalities with more than 50,000 people, if they regulate the public use 
cannabis, the regulations must designate a location in the municipality where public 
consumption is allowed. This section does not require that such municipalities 
provide for a location where any or all forms of cannabis can be consumed, but only 
some forms of cannabis can be consumed. The most common forms of cannabis 
consumption are smoking, vaping, and edibles. Through regulations, municipalities 
may set fines for violations by individuals regarding outdoor consumption of 
cannabis of up to $50. 

http://ct.gov/opm
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Municipalities are permitted to ban cannabis smoking and vaping at outdoor sections 
of restaurants. Through regulations, municipalities may set fines for violations of up 
to $1,000 for businesses who allow cannabis smoking or vaping contrary to the 
regulation of the municipality. 
 
Sec. 126 – effective July 1, 2021:  Imposes a 3% municipal sales tax on the sale of 
cannabis that applies in addition to the state’s 6.35% sales tax and the state cannabis 
tax established under the bill; specifies the purposes for which municipalities may 
use the tax revenue. The 3% municipal sales tax will be administered through DRS, 
though each municipality will be responsible for collecting the appropriate amounts 
as identified by DRS. 
 
Municipal Designee: The bill requires each municipality in which a cannabis retailer, 
hybrid retailer or micro-cultivator is located to submit to the DRS commissioner, at 
least annually, the name and contact information of the individual designated by the 
municipality to receive notifications regarding the tax. The DRS commissioner must 
notify these designated individuals of the tax amount reported due from each 
cannabis retailer, hybrid retailer and micro-cultivator located in their respective. 
Such municipalities are then responsible for collecting the tax payments from each 
payor. 
 
Municipal Uses of Funds:  The amounts remitted become a part of the municipality’s 
general revenue and may only be used for the following purposes: 

1. streetscape improvements and other neighborhood developments in 
communities where cannabis retailers, hybrid retailers or micro-cultivators 
are located; 

2. education programs or youth employment and training programs in the 
municipality; 

3. services for individuals living in the municipality who were released from 
DOC custody, probation, or parole;  

4. mental health or addiction services; 
5. youth service bureaus and municipal juvenile review boards; and 
6. community civic engagement efforts. 

 
Sec. 148 – effective July 1, 2021: Authorizes municipalities to enact certain zoning 
regulations or  ordinances for cannabis establishments; temporarily prohibits 
municipalities from granting zoning approval for more retailers or micro-cultivators 
than a number that would allow for one of each for every 25,000 residents; and allows 
the DCP commissioner to set a population-based cap for number of retailers or micro-
cultivators in the future. 
 

http://ct.gov/opm
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General Zoning Authority and Restrictions:  Allows municipalities to amend their 
zoning regulations or local ordinances to take the following actions regarding 
cannabis establishments: 

1. prohibit them from opening; 
2. reasonably restrict their hours and signage; or 
3. restrict their proximity to religious institutions, schools, charitable 

institutions, hospitals, veterans’ homes, or certain military establishments. 
 
Municipal chief zoning officials are required to report these zoning changes to the 
OPM Secretary and DCP. They must report in writing within 14 days after adopting 
the change. 
 
Affirmative Zoning Approval for Retailers and Micro-Cultivators:  Until June 30, 
2024, municipalities are prohibited from granting zoning approval for more retailers 
or micro-cultivators than a number that would allow for one retailer and one micro-
cultivator for every 25,000 municipal residents, as determined by the most recent 
decennial census. Beginning July 1, 2024, the DCP commissioner may post on the 
department’s web site a specific number of residents such that no municipality shall 
grant zoning approval for more retailers or micro-cultivators than would result in 
one retailer and one micro-cultivator for every such specific number of residents, as 
determined by the commissioner. 
 
In order to ensure compliance, the bill requires a special permit or other affirmative 
approval for any retailer or micro-cultivator seeking to be located within a 
municipality. A municipality must not grant the special permit or approval for any 
applicant if an approval would result in exceeding the density cap set by the bill or 
DCP Commissioner. The purpose of the special permit or other affirmative approval 
is not to require a public meeting or any other steps or procedures than would 
otherwise be required under a municipality’s zoning ordinance, but rather to ensure 
that no more retailers or micro-cultivators are granted zoning approval than the 
number allowable under the legislation. 
 

http://ct.gov/opm


Municipal Status on Cannabis Regulations 

 

Town Name        Zoning Change Reported 

Ansonia Approved 

Ashford Approved 

Avon Prohibited 

Beacon Falls Approved 

Berlin Moratorium 

Bethany Moratorium 

Bethel Prohibited 

Bethlehem Prohibited 

Bloomfield Approved 

Branford Approved 

Bridgeport Approved 

Bridgewater Prohibited 

Bristol Approved 

Brooklyn Approved 

Burlington Approved 

Canton Approved 

Chester Moratorium 

Clinton Prohibited 

Colchester Moratorium 

Columbia Approved 

Cornwall Moratorium 

Danbury Approved 

Durham Moratorium 

East Hampton Approved 

East Hartford Approved 

East Lyme Approved 



Town Name 
East Windsor 

Zoning Change Reported 
Approved 

Ellington Moratorium 

Enfield Approved 

Essex Moratorium 

Glastonbury Moratorium 

Goshen Moratorium 

Granby Moratorium 

Greenwich Prohibited 

Griswold Moratorium 

Groton Prohibited 

Guilford Moratorium 

Hartford Approved 

Harwinton Moratorium 

Hebron Moratorium 

Litchfield Moratorium 

Madison Moratorium 

Manchester Approved 

Marlborough Moratorium 

Meriden Approved 

Middlefield Prohibited 

Middletown Approved 

Morris Approved 

Naugatuck Approved 

New Britain Approved 

New Canaan Prohibited 

Newington Approved 

Newtown Prohibited 

North Stonington Approved 

Norwich Approved 



Town Name 
Old Lyme 

Zoning Change Reported 
Prohibited 

Old Saybrook Moratorium 

Orange Moratorium 

Plainfield Moratorium 

Preston Moratorium 

Prospect Prohibited 

Putnam Moratorium 

Ridgefield Moratorium 

Rocky Hill Moratorium 

Sharon Moratorium 

South Windsor Approved 

Southbury Moratorium 

Southington Prohibited 

Stafford Approved 

Suffield Approved 

Thomaston Moratorium 

Thompson Approved 

Tolland Approved 

Torrington Approved 

Trumbull Moratorium 

Vernon Approved 

Warren Moratorium 

Waterbury Moratorium 

Waterford Moratorium 

West Hartford Approved 

West Haven     Approved 

Weston     Prohibited 

Westport     Prohibited 

Willington     Approved 



Town Name 
Wilton 

Zoning Change Reported 
Prohibited 

Windham Approved 

Windsor Locks Moratorium 

Wolcott Prohibited 

Woodbury Prohibited 

Woodstock Moratorium 
 


